top of page

Treasures Aren't Easily Found: The Hidden Mini Asik-Asik in Calinan, Davao City

Davao City never ceases to amaze me. I feel like I would never run out of places to visit; views to admire; taste to savor; and people's stories to listen to. Just this weekend, I embarked on very rewarding journey to see for myself the beauty of something hidden deep in the forests of Calinan.



Mini Asik-Asik, as the locals and visitors call it, is indeed a treasure on its own merits. Located deep in the forests of Calinan in Davao City, this majestic waterfall is seldom heard of from travelers and travel bloggers. This however, doesn't mean that the place is not worth the time spent in finding it.



While still on my way to the waterfall, I was already amazed at how scenic the place was. I was walking literally on top of the mountains while taking all the pictures and videos I could. I saw trees, and a whole lot of them; passed by vegetable and fruit crops by the local farmers; mini waterfalls flowing from the side of the mountains; insects - those that crawl and fly; I heard birds sing; I saw seas of clouds kissing the mountain tops; I felt the cool fresh air of the forests; I experienced the awesome and gentle side of nature. A few minute walk, and I could finally hear the rushing waters. A few more steps and right before my eyes, was the majestic waterfall!



The water that flowed from the cliff onto the foot of a towering mountain, together with all the other sounds in the forest, created a symphony of nature that every weary traveler so admired. The place was surrounded by mountains on all sides and the water was cold and clear. There were trees everywhere and the birds happily hopped from one branch to another while singing a song only nature could understand.​



The site offered me a place of silence and peace, away from the city's noise and fast paced life. You can swim all you want; climb some parts of the cliff; cook your food; and take as many photos as your camera can handle. You will never ran out of beautiful things to see, just like I never did. An entire day was never enough for me to appreciate everything this paradise offered before us.


One of these days, I will be back to spend a few days in the mountains. I will experience the daily life of the locals in this hidden paradise.





bottom of page