top of page

JuanderfulPinas Adventures: Off to Aliwagwag Falls, Davao Oriental

The Seven Hour Drive


With my motorcycle Foxy (Suzuki Gixxer 150) at full tank; my travel bag packed with all the necessary things I need - my money, extra clothing, a selfie stick, my phone, and my camera; and with my driving get up on - I was ready for a long ride. The destination was no less than the beautiful, the majestic, the ever awesome - Aliwagwag Falls!



The trip was an unforgettable 7 hour ride up the picturesque mountains and down the fascinating coastal roads. It was a ride like I have never done before.

On my way to Cateel, a second class Municipality in the province of Davao Oriental where the famous Aliwagwag Falls is, were mountains of lush vegetation. Mountains were touching the clouds and I literally had to traverse kilometers and kilometers of road covered in cold fog and mist - a brilliant display of natures amazing design!



Down the coastal roads were nothing but the most relaxing views of the blue see, with birds singing and hovering over it, while its waves rushed towards the shore creating a symphony of nature. I had to pull over multiple times just so I could take a photo of one of the most beautiful scenery I have ever seen.



Speaking of having to stop every now and then, some of the stops I had to make were not really intended for picture taking. Sometimes I had to stop to ask the friendly locals for direction since the route I took was quite out of the ordinary.

Most people who traveled to Aliwagwag from Davao City would have taken a shorter route - via Compostela Valley. But you see, I am not "most people". This route might have been extremely long but I loved every minute of it.



I finally arrived in Cateel almost 6 hours after I left Davao City. I roamed around the municipal plaza and took pictures of the Pink church, the Pink painted town hall, the Pink painted park - almost everything was painted Pink! The municipality's official color is probably Pink.




The Amazing Aliwagwag


A few more kilometers ride and I finally arrived at site - Aliwagwag EcoPark! Wow...the sight was a relief to a weary traveler like me! I headed to park the motorcycle and paid my entrance fee. The staff were so friendly and accommodating, a Filipino trait which I am very proud of. I was going to pay for a table so I could leave my things while taking pictures or probably swimming but the lady told me to just leave my things to them and they will take good care of it. The lady was also very nice to mention that since I was alone, getting a table would not really be necessary and would just be an added expense. So I left my things with them and explored the amazing Aliwagwag Falls.



The falls is of multiple tiers which are rather close to each other. Unlike that of Tinuy-an Falls, you need not climb up far to get to the next tier. The water was clear and although ice cold, the sun's heat complemented it well. I took more pictures before swimming. It was indeed cold but a few minutes more into the water, my body had adjusted to the temperature and the real fun began!



An hour of swimming and climbing and I decided to cross the Monkey Bridge. It was an unforgettable experience - full of thrills and a lot of it! lol I climbed up the stairs that seemed endless and finally arrived at the foot of the Monkey Bridge. A nice staff helped me put on those strap designed to keep me safe, a helmet, and I was good to go. While on the bridge, I could't help myself but be awed by the view down below - a deep blue water rushing down the rocks which has sculpted the place to what it is now. It wasn't at all that scary. It was a lot of fun and made me admire the beauty of creation all the more.




On My Way Back Home


Time traveled fast - faster than I thought because it's time to head back home :(

I took a shower, put on my driving get up, took my things which I left at the staff house and headed to the canteen to eat. Yes! I had to eat before leaving and the food was a delectable "adobong baboy damo"! It's been decades since I have eaten "baboy damo" or wild pig. The adobo was all meat and cooked so tender, I just loved every bite of it. The price, including drinks and rice, was 80 pesos. Now how's that for a mouthwatering yet inexpensive meal?



Then it was time for me to leave. I was a little emotional but I had to leave so I could reach Davao City just before dark. The route I took this time was via Compostela Valley. On my way back home were beautiful mountain ranges, little falls along the highway, and every green scenery you can imagine. I was on top of the mountains and could see the beautiful places below. It took me only around 4 hours including stops to refuel, eat, and rest. I arrived in Davao at around 6:00PM, tired but fulfilled.


The Resort Amenities


The resort has tables for rent for only 50 - 75 pesos. They have rides and other activities you can do during your visit. I tried the Monkey Bridge for 50 pesos only. You may ask for other activities such as zip line ride and the like.

They have showers, dressing rooms, and comfort rooms too. There is a canteen with at least 4 concessionaires offering a variety of food and drinks you can choose from for a reasonable price.



They have staff all over the site so you can approach them anytime when you have questions or concerns. They are friendly and accommodating, don't hesitate to talk to them.

For those who plan of taking their cars and/or motorcycles, they have a huge parking space so don't worry. The road to Aliwagwag is also well maintained except for a least a kilometer long rough road. All the rest are nothing but a convenient trip. Enjoy!




bottom of page